A Week In North Devon, On A 19K Salary

Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We're asking a cross-section of women how they spend their hard-earned cash during a seven-day period — and we're tracking every last penny.

This week, a 21-year-old Recruitment Consultant living in North Devon on how she juggles a love of shopping, eating out and socialising with a £19k salary.
Industry: Recruitment Consultant
Age: 21
Location:
North Devon
Salary: £19k per annum + commission
Monthly pay check: Last month I took home £1892 before tax, but this varies month on month due to my commission structure. After tax, it was £1539.68.
No. of housemates: Just 1 – I live with my boyfriend, but my mortgage is just in my name. He contributes towards food and bills.
Advertisement
Monthly expenses
Mortgage: £222.18 (as part of a shared ownership scheme).
Ground Rent: £16.00
Service Charge: £56.10
TV license and Broadband: £29.52
Council Tax: £71.00 a month
Utilities: My gas, water and electric amount to about £70 a month.
Transportation: I’m lucky enough that I can walk to work.
Phone Bill: iPhone 6, £34.79 a month

Total: £499.56


Day One

10am: For breakfast, I treat myself to a satsuma, brought into work from home. A pack of eight is £1.50 from Iceland (just across the road from my work.) I rarely have time for breakfast so tend to just eat at my desk when I start to get peckish.

11.30am: Snack on a bag of crisps brought from home – a pack of eight costs £2 – this will keep me going until lunch.

1pm: Mega busy today as Monday is when we run payroll plus all our other daily jobs. Run to Boots and get a £3.29 meal deal to scoff at my desk. I treat myself to a smoked salmon rice dish, a tub of fruit and flavoured water. I then pop to Wilko to pick up a Glade refill for my air freshener at home. They have an offer for a twin pack at £5.50 so I opt for this (yep, I love buying in bulk.)

I generally tend to have four to five cups of tea throughout the day. Milk and tea bags etc. are free, as they are provided by work.

6pm: Didn’t have time for my usual Sunday food shop so I pop to Lidl with my partner after work and pick up £26.05 in groceries for dinners and lunches for the week. For the things I can’t pick up in Lidl, we go to Tesco afterwards, where my partner pays (we take it in turns), which comes to £41.20

8pm: For dinner we have two portions of lasagne that I had frozen down from the last lasagne I made – it’s late so I can't be fussed to cook. Defrosted and reheated these and had them with some garlic bread and salad that we bought food shopping.

Daily Total: £34.84
Advertisement

Day Two

9am: Sneak in a bowl of Weetabix and a satsuma at my desk for breakfast.

1pm: Forgot to make myself lunch the night before so pick up another Boots meal deal for £3.29 (life saver!) Today I opt for a pesto chicken wrap, graze snack box and flavoured water again.

6.00pm: Marinate my chicken in Nando’s Peri Peri sauce while I pop out with a friend to walk her dog.

7.30pm: I cook a gorgeous Peri Peri chicken, refried beans and rice dish. All things that I bought in our main food shop the night before. I always do a meal plan on a Sunday that I try my best to stick to and get all my food in one go.

8pm: After we’ve eaten we sit down and watch NetFlix. My boyfriend pays a monthly subscription of £5 a month.

Daily Total: £3.29

Day Three

9.30am: I’m out visiting clients today doing a Wimbledon promotion visiting existing customers and targeting new business. I spend £18.25 on strawberries and cream in Sainsbury’s, but claim this all back on my expenses at work.

12pm: After a lovely morning driving round visiting clients I pop to Costa and meet my boyfriend for a coffee cooler at lunch which costs me £3.35.

1pm: Pop to Morrisons as I realise I forgot to eat and pick up a pack of four Dairy Lee Dunkers on offer for £1. Have one in the car to keep me going. Fill up my car with £40.05 of petrol. All the miles I’ve done for work I can claim back on expenses – I did a total of 45 miles that I claim back at £0.40p from work, so that's £36.25.

3pm: Finally make it back to the office and sit down and have my ham salad roll I made the night before but forgot about. While I eat I have a browse on ASOS and spend £65 on two dresses for Goodwood, where I’m going at the end of July. I’m an avid shopper so paid £9.95 a few months back to get free next day delivery for a year – yippee!

6pm: I get 2 for 1 cinema tickets on Wednesdays because I got my car insurance through Compare The Market. It costs just £6.90 for two tickets! I pay, and my boyfriend spends £10.80 on our popcorn and drinks.

8.30pm: I stick a pizza on when we get in as it’s too late to cook properly. It's one that I picked up from Tesco earlier in the week on our food shop.

Daily Total: £134.55

Actual total (minus the things I’ll claim back on expenses) = £98.30

Day Four

8.30am: Am out all day today with a colleague doing more visits and drops with existing/ potential clients. We pop to Co-Op and I get a bottle of water and coffee for £2.65. She drives.

1pm: Stop off for some lunch. We go halves on some £10 chilli beef nachos, and I get a diet coke, £2.35.

4pm: Have a well-deserved cup of tea when I get back to the office. One of my colleagues recommends a teeth whitening kit, so I order the mouth guard and whitening gel for £26.99.

6pm: Get home and go for a walk with my boyfriend as it's nice weather.

7.30pm: I made jacket potatoes with cottage cheese and salad that I bought earlier in the week, and prepare my lunch for the next day: sandwiches, Dairy Lee Dunker and fruit. Then we chill out and watch Netflix.

Daily Total: £36.99
Advertisement

Day Five

9am: We like to treat ourselves in the office on Fridays, so order bacon and egg sandwiches all round from the café round the corner. £2.95.

1pm: I have my lunch – the one that I made the night before. Then I pop into town and spend £49.78 on a small summer bag, some shoes and a top.

1.45pm: Pop to Wilkinson’s and get some furniture polish and antiseptic wipes for £1.50. Pick up some sweets as well for 60p.

Again about 4-5 cups of tea throughout the day provided by work.

6.30pm: I make sausage pasta with tomato sauce and broccoli for dinner. We have a chilled night watching films and don’t do too much as we’ve had a long week.

Daily Total: £54.83


Day Six

10am: Have some melon for breakfast that I bought earlier in the week. I have a Dolce Gusto coffee maker so start the day with a lovely caramel latte. A box of pods was about £4.00 for eight.

12pm: It’s raining, so I spend the day tidying, doing washing, and clearing out my overflowing wardrobe of clothes.

3pm: I'm not really hungry but I know I’m going out later so I have some noodles and Quorn chicken and a cup of tea.

7pm: Meet some friends for drinks at a cocktail bar in town. I have two strawberry daiquiris, £7.95 each.

9pm: We head to another bar and stay there for the rest of the evening. I have four gin and tonics at £8 each, then head home for the night at about 1am.

Daily Total: £47.90

Day Seven

10am: For breakfast I have scrambled eggs on toast and a cup of tea and watch some TV. I’m doing an apprenticeship through work so spend a couple of hours working on this.

3pm: Pop out for a walk with my boyfriend to get out of the house for an hour or so. Pick up some milk for 69p and sweets for £2.00 from the shop on the way back.

5pm: Finish bagging up my clothes that I’m chucking out to take to the North Devon hospice in the morning.

5.30pm: Clean my bathroom!

7pm: Feeling a bit peckish so order a pizza to be delivered. I pay £11.40.

8pm: Log into my friend's SKYGO and watch a film on there.

Daily Total: £14.09
This article has been amended to reflect income before and after tax.
Advertisement

More from Work & Money

Watch

R29 Original Series

Watch Now
Fashion
A look at the subcultures around the world that color what we wear — and why.
Watch Now
Travel
Explore the world's most most vibrant cultural and culinary centers—in 60 seconds, of course.
Watch Now
Beauty
The craziest trends, most unique treatments, and strangest subcultures in the beauty world.
Watch Now
Lifestyle
Millennial survivor-woman Lucie Fink dives headfirst into social experiments, 5 days at a time.