Money Diary: IT Consultant Living In London On 42k

Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We're asking a cross-section of women how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period – and we're tracking every last penny.
This week we're with an IT consultant who is originally from Scandinavia. She moved to London around two years ago and just recently was able to move to a studio and live on her own for the first time. It does cost more but it’s worth it.
Industry: Consulting
Age: 27
Location: London
Salary: £42k
Paycheque amount per month: £2,550 (after tax and pension)
Number of housemates: 0
Monthly Expenses
Rent: £975
Loan payments: £100 (I pay my credit card bill to my home country)
Bills: £110 (electricity, water, internet, council tax)
Transportation: £230, covers Zones 2-6 + a bit further
Phone bill: £18
Health insurance: Deducted from the salary
Savings: £200. I try to save £400 a month but I already bought flights for a holiday from this month’s salary so £200 is more realistic.
Spotify: £10
Netflix: £6.80
Total: £1,649.80

More from Work & Money

Watch

R29 Original Series

Watch Now
Fashion
A look at the subcultures around the world that color what we wear — and why.
Watch Now
Travel
Explore the world's most most vibrant cultural and culinary centers—in 60 seconds, of course.
Watch Now
Beauty
The craziest trends, most unique treatments, and strangest subcultures in the beauty world.
Watch Now
Lifestyle
Millennial survivor-woman Lucie Fink dives headfirst into social experiments, 5 days at a time.