Please upgrade your browser for the best Refinery29 experience. Read more.

Saved! Access Favorites in your account profile. Removed from my favorites

Instagram Will Notify You If Someone Screenshots Your DM

comments
Creepers, consider yourself warned: You can't creep in secret on Instagram anymore.

Instagram's new update lets you send self-destructing messages to your friends (kind of — maybe — like Snapchat) and Mashable reports that your friends will be notified if you take a screenshot of those messages.
The notifications will seem very familiar to anyone who uses Snapchat. Send a "disappearing message" to a friend who decides to screenshot it and you'll get a message on your phone letting you know.

Haven't used the disappearing message feature on Insta yet? When you log on, swipe from left to right on your screen and a camera window appears, allowing you to take a photo, video, or Boomerang, and send it to a friend or group. It might remind you of Snapchat.
It's important to know that the notifications are only for the new disappearing message feature, not the new stories feature or images in your feed, so you can still creep those in anonymity. For now.
SHARE
TWEET
EMAIL